The Curriculum

Curriculum for Excellence introduced a new approach to planning and delivering learning and teaching in Scottish schools on the basis of a continuous 3-18 curriculum. It is built around nationally agreed aims – the four capacities - that all children should become successful learners, confident individuals, responsible citizens and effective contributors. The curriculum covers what children will be learning and how this is planned and delivered.


Our aim is to raise standards by improving our children’s knowledge and developing their skills. Staff aim to make learning relevant and help children to appreciate that all knowledge is connected. One way we do this in St Margaret’s is to ensure this by providing four or five interdisciplinary topics per year.

Core to everything is literacy, numeracy and health and wellbeing. These subjects are delivered throughout the curriculum. As a denominational school, Health and Well being relates closely to our Religious Education curriculum. Our curriculum covers all main subjects:

• The Expressive Arts

• Health and Wellbeing

• Language

• Mathematics

• Religious Education

• Sciences

• Social Studies

• Technologies

To find out more about Curriculum for Excellence, guidance that may be helpful is available as follows: